Tag Archives: Pilgrimage

Bulacan Pilgrimage – 4th Stop: St. John the Baptist Parish, Calumpit, Bulacan

Our last stop in the morning was in the Parish of St. John the Baptist in Calumpit, Bulacan. We also had our lunch there.

About the church:

Built in 1572, the St. John the Baptist Church is the oldest church in Bulacan. Constructed under the supervision of Augustinian priest Fr. Diego Vivar-Ordoñez, the church had been witness to the Filipino’s struggle against Spanish, American and Japanese rule. Inside the church is a tunnel that, according to history, was used by priests during the Spanish regime to keep gold, religious statues, and ornate jewelry hidden from the sight of treasure hunters. Likewise, it is in this tunnel where revolutionaries and Spaniards were buried during the war. This was also Gen. Tanaka’s (Japanese Imperial Army) last battlefield. [Source]

The facade of the church told us that it was an old church, but when we were inside, we were welcomed by a well-maintained and polished altar set in gold. We didn’t see any sign of wear and tear in the walls and ceilings, and even in the chandeliers.

See it for yourself.

Click here for the previous churches.

Bulacan Pilgrimage – 1st Stop: National Shrine of the Divine Mercy

The Holy Eucharist Parish of Moonwalk Paranaque is celebrating its Silver Jubilee. One of the church activities is a pilgrimage to Bulacan churches.

So last Saturday, my whole family joined the pilgrimage. Our first stop was The National Shrine of the Divine Mercy in Sta. Rosa 1, Marilao, Bulacan.

Since early 1990s, more than 300,000 devotees of the 3 o’clock Habit have flocked to the Shrine. The main altar features the life-sized painting of the Divine Mercy. The images of the Seven Archangels are included in the main altar. At the lower part of the Shrine and situated at the back, is the Grotto of Our Lady of Fatima. There is also an Adoration Chapel, which houses the painting of the Last Vision of Fatima. Adjacent to it is the so-called “Rosary Hill.” The 15 mysteries and the 14 stations of the cross help people experience conversion, healing, and a deeper relationship with God.

View the photos: